About Us


The establishing of Pilgrim Rest Missionary Baptist Church spans over 118 years.  Laura W. Miller signed the documents to deed the church on November 26, 1886 according to records on file in the Madison County Court House.  Throughout the years  God provided the vision for Pilgrim Rest to each pastor placed over the  membership.  Pilgrim Rest has been under the leadership of Reverends Smith, Willie Jones, Z. M. Winder, Powell, Willie Johnson, W .L. Gipson, S. P. Johnson,  C. M. Jordan, R. H. Walls, J. C. Simmons, W. D. Harris, B. N. Steverson, Curtis Gilbert, Freddie Short and Matthew Canada (April, 1994 to present). 

Pilgrim Rest experienced it’s Ground Breaking Ceremony for its new church facility in August, 1995 at 852A Madison Avenue, Madison, Mississippi.  The Education and Activity Center was completed and the ribbon cutting ceremony was held in August, 2004. 

Truly God has smiled on the Pilgrim Rest Family.  We realize that we are still serving on the foundation laid by our founders and are thankful to God for all the blessings bestowed on us.  We will continue to stress the word of Jesus as He spoke to Peter.

“Upon this rock I build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.”  Matthew 16:18